Claro Jamaica Internet Review

Since there are no review sites for products and services in Jamaica, I’ll just rant about my little problem on my blog in the hopes of saving potential customers from getting ripped off. This review is based on northern St. Elizabeth location for Claro Internet Service . They claim they do not do refunds if you get a service, even if your service is crap.

Review: Rating based out of 5.

  • Product Service – 2.
  • Customer Service – 0. (Cust Serv is a complete joke).
  • Setting up – 5. (They make no joke in collecting your money and sign you up).

My Rant

I was informed by claro representatives at 2 different resellers and customer service that in my location, EDGE is available. I bought a claro modem with 1 month’s internet service, brought it to my area in which I indeed have EDGE. So before I get into the technical aspects of my rant, I’ll give a little lesson on the technologies I am working with:

There are multiple types of data transfers that Claro offers. Their best type is 3G. In my location I have GPRS and EDGE. These are the speeds that these 2 data transfer should give from this network:

  • GPRS – 7kbps down.
  • EDGE – around 25kbps down.

Now back to my rant. The modem frequently switches back and forth between GPRS and EDGE, but most of the time, it stays on EDGE. When on EDGE, I get a maximum down rate of 2kbps. Yep 2kbps of the 25kbps of what I should be getting. When it switches to GPRS, I get a maximum down rate of 7kbps. So here we have it, the lower performing service is out performing the better service.

I waiting a day or two before contacting customer service, they turned out to be very nice people who understood my problem very inefficiently and auto responded with “We are aware, technicians are working on the problem”. So after a few calls to their customer care service, I gave up and turned to a governmental organization called Consumer Affairs Commision. This very nice lady was assigned to my problem, she contacted Mr. Randolph Nelson (Customer Service Manager from Claro).

Mr. Nelson along with a technician tried to temporarily fix the service on GPRS until they fix the cell site in the area so EDGE would work properly. Weeks passed, each time of contact, telling me that they have not visited the cell site yet. 2 months passed until I told the assigned technician I need a refund. She claimed she would pass it on to Mr. Nelson, who suddenly decided to stop replying to my emails. The lady at consumer affairs contacted him again to inform him about the refund, she replied to my email with the following:

Mr. Nelson has just responded to me by stating thatClaro wouldn’t be able to refund you because there is connectivity on the modem, just not at the speeds you would like.

This is the last I have heard from them since I bought the modem 4 months ago with 1 month of unacceptable internet service. In total, I wasted around $11,700.00 JMD on this modem and the 1 month service.

I’d like to thank Petra Young, the lady who looked after my case from consumer affairs. I’d also like to thank Randolph Nelson, who was just doing his job (I think hiding away from my emails is a part of Claro’s internal rules).

Conclusion

Claro is a typical Company that does not care about customers. They are unethical and their customer care reps are well trained with bullshit. I can safely say, being a digicel customer, they’re customer care is on par with Claro’s. Their prices are also very high, but because there is not much competition, people run to them as I did (for a lower quality service).

Names may or may not be removed upon request.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Claro Jamaica Internet Review

  1. Jonny says:

    Nice rant, had a laught too (not at you though!) What do you develop?

  2. Shawn Mclean says:

    Web/Software/Mobile Applications for .net framework. Mostly any Microsoft technology that I see fit to solve a particular problem efficiently.

  3. Jonny says:

    Cool, do a little web programming myself but only in php..

  4. Lise G. ORR says:

    I went to a claro location at Bay west, Montego Bay, last wednesday. After waiting in line fo 20 minutes, another lady came from outside and proceeded to ask numeours questions to an attendant, who was already busy with someone. Your staff continued to serve that lady, while we were all waiting in the line up. Once again, CLARO has not trained their mstaff to respect potential clients in a line up. The arrogance of this nation continue to amaze me. While I taught that Claro had a superior training to those ill mannered staff, proven again that CLARO is not better than the competition. LINE UP MUST BE RESPECTED FOR EVERYONE ( no exception for jamaicans) I will surely NOT to get involved with such low business practice of CLARO.

  5. Lise G. ORR says:

    READING ALL COMMENTS NOW I REALIZED THAT CLARO IS ANOTHER SCAM IN JAMAICA THROUGH FALSE ADVERTISEMENT. THEY HAVE NO STAFF TRAINED PROPERLY WHO KNOW NOTHING ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE. I AM HAPPY TO HAVE DISCOVERED THEIR TRUE LACK OF SERVICE BEFORE INVESTING IN IT. WE HAD CW BEFORE AND NOW CLARO. GO BACK HOME! LACK OF RESPECTING LINE UP IS A SERIOUS DISEASE IN JAMAICA, I WAS EXPECTING CLARO TO KNOW BETTER. WEDNESDAY 11:00 AM FIRST TELLER BY THE DOOR NEEDS SERIOUS RETRAINING.

  6. Ricky_y says:

    I had to find out the hard way myself. I have a 3g modem but in my area i get about 40% 3g and full gprs and edge. My download speed on my pc when 3g is crap, max speed with edge is 5kbps i never get gprs. On my edge phone that can go upto 200 somethin kbps i only get 3kbps and its always got max signal. On digicel i was able to stream videos from youtube since i’ve using claro i can’t only to find out recently that it was claro’s crapy edge network i’m a net person so i’ll be going back to digicel or maybe i’ll try out lime.

Leave a Reply

